Reporting Global Tech Stories

Rest of World Photography Contest

How is technology impacting your world?

Drones flying vaccines to remote communities in Nepal. App-based delivery drivers navigating traffic in Bangkok. Nickel mining in the jungles of Indonesia. Technology is all around us, changing the way we live and engage with others. This year, Rest of World wants to see how you are experiencing these profound changes, and how tech impacts you and your communities — from how you work to how you shop to how you eat.

For the inaugural Rest of World Photography Contest, we want to see your images of technology’s impact. The contest is open to photographers of any skill level, living and working in the non-Western world (full list of countries below). Each photographer may enter a single image made within the last three years. The contest is open for entries until midnight GMT on February 10, 2023 (deadline extended).

A panel of judges will review the submissions and select 10 images as finalists, which will be featured on Rest of World’s website. Of the final 10 images, the top three photographs will be chosen as winners. The first-place winner will be awarded a $1,000 cash prize. The second- and third-place winners will be awarded $500 and $250, respectively.

Get snapping and submit your photographs today!

Submission instructions

Photographers may submit one image to the contest. Images should be no less than 2,500 pixels on their longest side and in JPG format. They should be emailed to with “Photography Contest” in the subject line. The email must include the photographer’s full name and location, as well as a one- or two-sentence description of the image. Any submission that does not follow these guidelines will be disqualified.

Enter Now

Terms and conditions

Photographs submitted to Rest of World’s photo contest will remain the property of the submitting photographer. Finalists whose photographs are chosen for the final judging panel and displayed on our website and across Rest of World platforms will be asked to sign stand-alone licensing agreements and will be subject to our standard licensing terms.

Any photograph submitted must be an original image created by the submitting photographer, who must own all relevant intellectual property rights and derivative rights to the photograph.

Photographers submitting images may not at any time prior to submission have been commissioned as a freelance photographer for Rest of World.

Images must not violate or infringe on the rights of any third party.

Images must not disparage any third party or contain material considered obscene, hateful, tortious, defamatory, slanderous, or libelous.

Images must not promote bigotry, racism, hatred, or harm against any group or individual, nor promote discrimination based on race, gender, religion, nationality, disability, sexual orientation, or age.

Images must not contain material that is unlawful, in violation of, or contrary to the laws or regulations of the United States.

The organizers of the Contest will not be liable for any loss or damage suffered by entrants as a result of their participation in the Contest. The organizers also reserve the right to alter these terms and conditions at any time and without notice.

Images submitted may be from any of the following locations: Afghanistan, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Anguilla, Antarctica, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Bouvet Island, Brazil, British Virgin Islands, British Indian Ocean Territory, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Christmas Island, Cocos (Keeling) Islands, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Czech Republic, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern Territories, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Heard Island and McDonald Islands, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macau, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Mongolia, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands Antilles, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Territory, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Pitcairn Islands, Poland, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, Republic of the Congo, Réunion, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Helena, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, United States Minor Outlying Islands, Uruguay, U.S. Virgin Islands, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.